BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

Question about starting from standstill

1K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  njitram2000 
#1 · (Edited)
I have had my new 116d ED for a week now (600 km so the clutch should be broken in, according to the manual) and I have a problem with pulling away: the engine keeps stalling.
I have been driving manual cars for 10 years and have always used the same technique: apply a small amount of throttle and slowly release the clutch at the same time. Once I feel it "gripping", I apply more throttle and smoothly release the clutch the rest of the way. That has never failed me, even with very short clutches. I tried the same with my BMW and I must have stalled the engine about 20 times in the first 2 days. I can't feel de clutch gripping as well as in any of the other cars and if I understand it correctly, that's because of the CDV but if anything, that should prevent it from stalling, right?

I then put myself on a parking lot to figure out what I was missing and discovered that I had to get the rpm up to 2000 before releasing the clutch, after which the rpm drops to 1500 and then I can get going without issues. Given the delay in throttle response in eco pro and comfort mode, that means I have to be careful to do that everytime I need to get going quickly. The throttle is also very aggressive when the clutch is not engaged, meaning I usually end up around 2500-3000 when I release the clutch, making it more difficult when needing to slowly move forward in traffic (though I'll probably get used to that in time) and causing more wear on the clutch then it should.

I am by no means a professional driver but I'm also definitely not a novice and this is a little bit ridiculous to me. Any insight or tips would be appreciated. Even if this is typical behaviour for a BMW, it would be nice to understand why it's happening.