Hi there! E39 528i owner looking for answers....and finding some!

Notices

Thread: Hi there! E39 528i owner looking for answers....and finding some!

Reply to Thread
  1. Hi there! E39 528i owner looking for answers....and finding some! 
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Rec0n's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    528i E39
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    Thanks
    Hey there,

I have been using your forums of late for some answers to various queries and figured I might as well join the community to get more out of it.

I am an older fart who started life as a motor mechanic at a BMW Dealer in Melbourne back in the early '80s. I completed my BMW Master Technician upgrade in 1991 and worked at a Melbourne Dealership for 13 years all up. In 1996 I moved out of the trade and into a Product Management role at an equally impressive German company that sells to the trade where I have now been for 17 years. This year saw me change from the Product Team to the IT team to run their IT Helpdesk and I have not looked back!

I bought my E39 528i about 4.5 years ago after my old car was totaled by a huge hail storm. I remembered why I loved these cars as soon as I road tested it!

My recent issues related to an LCM module failure (second time around...) that saw me lose both high beams and one low over the course of 8 months. The last low beam started staying on permanently just this weekend so it was time to seek out a skilled repairer or at least some info on the MOSFETs that these modules run.

The last repair I had done in 2011 failed on all four lamps so I wasn't keen to go back to the same guy. Whether it was skill or component failure I will not know, but after speaking to a mate in the trade yesterday and being assured that he could help me, I spent today down at his work shop pulling the LCM apart and replacing the four offending units.