Detailing questing - What is cutting?

Notices

Thread: Detailing questing - What is cutting?

Reply to Thread
  1. Detailing questing - What is cutting? 
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Bazza's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    7351 (E65)
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    auto
    Car Body Type:
    Salon
    Thanks
    Please forgive the very basic question but i am new to the detailing process.

I have read many guides and am soon off to buy a rotary polisher. My question is about applying the polish. I think this is referred to as "cutting" please explain what that is? Can you also advise what pad I need for the cutting? I assume this is replaced when I need to take the polish off. Is there a third phase for buffing?

Am I right to think that Polishing and waxing are two very different things?

I am a little stumped by the vast array of products - I have a metallic black 7 series and want to get a mirrored shine look. I was going to opt for Meguires products.

Thugts and suggestions are appreciated.

Again - apologies for the very simple questions.

Bazza
    Cry Havoc and slip the 3.6 v8!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements

ron
    BMW Master
    Car Details
    ron's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e36 328i
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    half touring half pickup?

Thanks
    have you not had a read through this?
    http://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum/...-handbook-t68/
    BFUK full time clown.

BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    Gleammachine's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    525i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Touring
    Thanks
    Hi Bazza,