BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

cheap machine polishers

Tags
polishers
4K views 36 replies 20 participants last post by  Gav78 
#1 ·
do they work, this is something id use once a year max, why not buy a 30 qiud one off ebay, i understand people using 100/200 pound ones if they do it for a living or regular, but i may use mine once, why shouldnt i buy a 30 pound one off ebay:confused

#25 ·
I wouldn't recommend a silverline to a new user (assuming OP is a new user to machine polishers)

Get a DA, machines like silverlines are rotary, which means they spin in one spot, a DA is dual action, so it kind of orbits and moves about, thus not burning through your paint.

I have been using a DA for about about 2 years now, and use it every couple of months, on various cars and I only just about feel confident enough now to go onto a rotary polisher.

#9 ·
I've got this http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/polis...-silverstorm-39-rotary-polisher/prod_513.html

Absolutely spot on, works perfectly, very powerful and has the essential speed control dial :thumbsup

Me and a few boys from work chipped in £20 each last year and got the polisher, backing plate and a variety of pads.. we've all used it 3 or 4 times each and it's working perfectly.. why pay more when you can get one at that price with a 3 year guarantee!?!?

Reactions: rumpleforeskin
#11 ·
Just a bit more advice for you rumple, because you have a black car trust me you will need a orbital polisher sooner or later. The DA's are good in their own league but if you ever need to correct the paint properly / round off heavy scratches then the rotary will be the one you need.

Plus it'll save you loads of time and the pads are cheaper / more plentiful for a rotary

#13 ·