BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

Engine Oil Selection - Excellent guide here!

25K views 43 replies 30 participants last post by  powerofm 
#1 · (Edited)
ok guys..well after reading this guide and doing some more digging....

I came to the conclusion that oil (like many other products) cannot be judged by its brand.

eg. Castrol GTX is not necessarily good because they have loads of adverts and a strong brand name (though this is just an example ;) )

The only problem this leaves me with..is finding a reliable supplier of Royal Purple Oils :confused: in the UK...as its only distributed in the US it seems :(

#2 · (Edited)
ive been using and promoting royal purple for over 10 years

a friend used to run it in his busses and saved a fortune on longer intervals and slightly improved consumption, ive also used it in all my cars and all high power projects i build
there is deffinitely a noticeable difference all around
it runs smoother, quieter, and it comes out cleaner

i dont know about the other comapnies making the claims but i would only try to go 15000 between changes on the purple stuff, 7500 in hot or harsh conditions
i think bmw need to start offering or even requiring it, too bad the other comanies have more money to buy the contract

i also recently saw a show on them and the testing and quality control is unreal

but as for the valvoline all i can say is WOW

im gonna start recommending it as a low cost solution

ive also heard good things about quaker state but i dont know if its availabel outside the US ,
a friend ran it for 5000 miles in his 04 acura MDX and he said when he drained it it was much much cleaner than any other oil hes ever used

#3 ·
Thats good to hear mate.
All I have ever heard is good things about Royal Purple! and valvoline I have always liked as I can get it over here!