523 i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    Thanks
    Hi,

The gremlin on my car came back today, on the drive home the heater has gone cold (again) and i've lost the water (again). The car has had EVERYTHING cooling wise replaced so i've decided enough is enough and to strip the engine down to find out wtf is going on. Piont out the engine (in the time that i have owned it hasn't been overheated)

The engine will prob be out this weekend, i plan to totally strip it down and replace everything, the big ends, shell, piston rings etc etc.

I do this for a living so it's not a problem doing it, but we use "standard" stuff at work like KS pistons and Elring shells etc.

In the future i would maybe turbo the engine or supercharge it so when it's in bits im thinking of doing any prep work required like heavy duty shells etc.

The things i am certain on:

New bigs ends
    New conrod bearings
    New piston rings

I will be doing the headgasket obviously. I have used FAI gaskets on every engine i've ever built and never had an issue but are there any performance gaskets available ?

Im very keen on the idea of these head studs rather than headbolts, any comments on those ?

I would possibly (if available) replace the crankshaft and conrods/pistons with those from a 2.8 but i read something the other day about the Alpina being a 3.2 straight 6.... Would this be possible ?

Up top im looking at M3 US cams , will be replacing the timing chain/tensioner and guides too.

Random thought but this M3 engine mod you E36 guys do, would that carry over to an E39 ?
    E39 M inspired

2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements

BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    kiwi328's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e36 328
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe

Thanks
    Do you have an m52 tu or the usual m52?