BMW 316i 1997 - OBD Interface??

Notices
 

Thread: BMW 316i 1997 - OBD Interface??

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. BMW 316i 1997 - OBD Interface?? 
    #1
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    joesquire's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1997 'R'
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    joesquire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exmouth
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    BMW E36 316i 1997 'R'

    Hi, i was wondering, does any know where the OSB interface is? I've looked under where the pedals are, and i've even taken out the panel above, and there is no port anywhere.

    I want to connect my laptop to the car and tune it. But i cant find the port anywhere? My mate has a bmw and his is under the dash where i have been looking. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Last edited by joesquire; 16-05-2009 at 13:45. Reason: More details
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    westcoast13's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316iSE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1999
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It will be the round 20-pin connector under the bonner you are after i think.
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    joesquire's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1997 'R'
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    joesquire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exmouth
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ahh right i see. But i heard that you can plug this lead into your laptop and then plug it in under the dash and run the laptop at the same time as driving to get the real time readings as the engine is running etc.
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    westcoast13's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316iSE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1999
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'm no expert, but i think thats only available on later cars, something like 2002 on. Before that, its the round connector that lets you access all the functions of the car via laptop.
     
     

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to westcoast13 For This Useful Post:

    Ian S (22-05-2009)

  8.  
    #5
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    4,004
    Thanks
    2,159
    Thanked 2,263 Times in 1,733 Posts
    The E36 supports the OBD2 protocol but via the 20 pin BMW diagnostic port. Later models like the E46 have the OBD2 connector.
     
     

  9.  
    #6
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    joesquire's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1997 'R'
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    joesquire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exmouth
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S View Post
    The E36 supports the OBD2 protocol but via the 20 pin BMW diagnostic port. Later models like the E46 have the OBD2 connector.
    so if i was to buy some software and a connector that is the 20 pin one, and something that connects to the laptop, will i be able to remap how i want?
     
     

  10.  
    #7
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    joesquire's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1997 'R'
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    joesquire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exmouth
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Could someone tell me if the following links, is what i would need to connect my laptop to my computer to do remaps/diagnostics etc

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...fvi%3D1&_rdc=1


    thanks!!
     
     

  11.  
    #8
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    4,004
    Thanks
    2,159
    Thanked 2,263 Times in 1,733 Posts
    Quick answer no.

    You need to get the correct interface box for the software you are intending to use. You would need one interface box for reading diagnostic codes and another for remap's.

    Even if you could get the software and interface to remap it, what map would you put on it? If you were doing your own maps, you would also need a map editor and then you would need even more equipment to know that your car was running correctly... You can buy maps if you know where to get them from but again there are no guarantees that your car will run correctly.

    It's easier to pay someone else to remap your car.

    Hope this helps

    Ian
     
     

  12.  
    #9
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,398
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,052 Times in 5,322 Posts
    Also I think you will find that you can't remap your car via the 20 pin port, you need to remove the ECU to do this.
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts