2007 E90 320d Can BMW see a re-map?

Notices
 

Thread: 2007 E90 320d Can BMW see a re-map?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. 2007 E90 320d Can BMW see a re-map? 
    #1
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Thacker's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320d SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Pluto
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just considering re-mapping my 320d (163), but can BMW see if its been re-mapped via diagnostics? Or if I had it taken off at service time could they see if its been added and removed?

    Cheers In advance.

     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    Klone's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E36 318i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1995
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Clacton On Sea
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 42 Times in 41 Posts
    Hi Thacker..

    Dependant on what remap you have i dont think they can see if you remove it...

    If i had a diesel and had it remapped i would always buy a removable one, as if they reflash the ECU for any reason you would lose it anyway.

    In short... i think they can see ECU changes... but not if you remove it, as in theory... if you remove the remap, its a stock ECU

    I wouldnt take my advice as gospel... but its pretty much close!
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Authorised Bimmerforums UK Vendor
    Car Details
    motechmike's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e92 M3
    Year of Manufacture:
    2012
    Transmission Type:
    DTC
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    motechmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    1,227
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 209 Times in 182 Posts
    It is hard for a daeler to see a good map. Even harder on good re-mapping tool's. But if the dealer know's the stock boost levels then yes they will see its running more boost.. but they got to know what there looking for
    Thanks Mike

    01604 810000
    07842 122467


    ECU mapping to a standard, not a price!

    www.motechperformance.co.uk
    info@motechperformance.co.uk

    facebook/motechperformance

    Performance Software: EcoMap | CityMap | ActiveMap | X-Maps & X-Maps +
    Tuning: Eibach | Vmaxx | Remus | Remus Powerizer | Jetex | Hawke | PiperCross | Forge | Carbon Speed
     
     

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to motechmike For This Useful Post:

    Thacker (13-03-2010)

  6. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  7.  
    #4
    BMW Master
    Car Details
    Mostly Harmless's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    infront of my laptop
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by motechmike View Post
    It is hard for a daeler to see a good map. Even harder on good re-mapping tool's. But if the dealer know's the stock boost levels then yes they will see its running more boost.. but they got to know what there looking for
    I wouldn't expect it's nearly as complicated as that. There would have to be a reason for them to look, and for the life of me I can't think of a reason why they would!

    The only things I can think of are 1, they try to program your car for some other reason and it shows an invalid software version (which I expect they would just ignore anyway) and 2, they stumble accross it during a diagnosis of some kind and it sends them off in the wrong direction as the BMW diagnosis system will recognise the changes as faults!
     
     

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Mostly Harmless For This Useful Post:

    Thacker (13-03-2010)

  9.  
    #5
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    4,006
    Thanks
    2,159
    Thanked 2,263 Times in 1,733 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thacker View Post
    Just considering re-mapping my 320d (163), but can BMW see if its been re-mapped via diagnostics? Or if I had it taken off at service time could they see if its been added and removed?

    Cheers In advance.

    If the map was removed by a dealer software update I'd expect most companies would sort it out for you

    Ian
     
     

  10.  
    #6
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Deano16v's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    745i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    3,632
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 1,154 Times in 1,001 Posts
    most will put it back on.

    The dealers will only find it if they are looking for it. It'll only be wiped by them if they install software updates
     
     

  11.  
    #7
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Thacker's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320d SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Pluto
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks all, this was just a theoretical question as it would surely be wrong to re-map my company car!
     
     

  12.  
    #8
    J0N
    J0N is offline
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    J0N's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318 Ci M Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    J0N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Shiny new gaff...
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 379 Times in 283 Posts
    Usually all the dealer will be interested in at service time will be fault codes, the only time you might run into problems is when the ECU is reflashed with a software upgrade but even these are rare unless there is a specific problem with the original map. An example of this was when there was an horrendous flat-spot on the first MkIV Golf R32's, these all got a re-flash when serviced sometimes without the owner even being informed.
     
     

  13.  
    #9
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    mark@vorny.co.uk's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    911 C2S
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    mark@vorny.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Appleby Magna, Derbyshire
    Posts
    6,636
    Thanks
    5,139
    Thanked 3,738 Times in 2,697 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thacker View Post
    Thanks all, this was just a theoretical question as it would surely be wrong to re-map my company car!
    I would say it's absolutely the right thing to do.
    Good quality remap is unlikely to cause any issues.
    2013, Porsche 911 Carrera 4S, PDK, Sports Exhaust, Chrono, etc, etc

    *removed

    BFUK weekday crew

    PLEASE READ THE POSTING RULES & HOW TO CORRECT THREAD TITLES & THE SELLING RULES
     
     

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to mark@vorny.co.uk For This Useful Post:

    motechmike (13-03-2010)

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts