BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

2000 E46 323ci - just bought a replacement rack today

2K views 19 replies 5 participants last post by  Egon 
#1 ·
I am under the impresion my rack is fubared. so i ordered 1 today from a 2005 320d with 56k. cost me £99 delivered! well when it gets here:thumbsup

#4 ·
Easy enough to change them over - how are your track rods looking - both the inner & outer ball joints? I did a description on the E46 technical thread on how to swap the rack out - a very quick job when you know how (about 90 mins in & out I reckon - and I'm not a pro).

Keep us posted.

#7 ·
Funny you should say that, I had a clonk too and blamed it on the rack. What a hasty decision! I bought a remanufactured one and even though I SPECIFICALLY said I wanted one with the M-Sport valve, they sent me a standard over-boosted one. Needless to say, it didn't fix the clonk which was in fact the outer joint on the lower control arm (febi, fitted 30k ago, essentially crap compared to oem - you are much better to buy genuine used from the breakers, which I did). Steering never felt right since then, plus it gave up on me after about 3 months. I received another one under their 1 year warranty which started to get sticky even faster - after about 1 month. In the end I got fed up with it and bought a nice and tight ORIGINAL one from the breakers and now the car steers like a dream.

Moral of the story: stick with original parts!

#9 ·
did he check them properly? I couldn't detect movement either with the car up in the air. Apparently you can use a waterpump pliers to clamp the joint on its vertical axis and see if it has play. I hope you track it down, i know how painful it is :(

lemforder is oem, so if you can get those they're just as good as BMW ones.

#13 ·
Heh, spent 3 hours in an alignment place today, they checked EVERYTHING!