BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

E36 Saloon - Budget circuit build

2K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  Eddie6464 
#1 ·
Hi :)

New here but like to keep a record of my progress and I've spent a fair bit of time lurking here over the years so though I'd sign up.

I've been building a Mk2 Golf for almost two years now and the spec has gotten ridiculous. GRP wings, bonnet, roof, boot, 360hp 20v, well specced gearbox with a Wavetrac diff, full turret-to-turret weld in cage, spherical bearings, AP 4-Pots, etc etc, full on legitimate race car.

As I'm sure you've all been though, projects take way too long and it starts to wind you up after a while that you're working all the time instead of driving, so I put aside a small budget to knock up a car to get out in this summer. So it was back to a BMW, natural choice in all honesty. My 325 and 328 had left an impression that stuck with me more than the E30's I'd had did, and with them being so cheap to pick up a 'beater' I got on with it.

I found a 323i Saloon in good condition. it drove perfectly bar worn out bushes making it wriggle over uneven surfaces. Even the driver's seat looked brand new and it had the BMW extinguisher, medical kit, spare wheel, full tool kit, history, etc. It's Arctic Silver which is a little odd, not the straight silver like the Coupe we have which I think is nicer, but hey... it's only paint.

So anyway, I immediately began ruining it, almost sadly, and took it down a bit.