BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1992 E36 318i - conversion to 6cyl M50 or 6cylM52?

10K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  wolvesdug 
#1 ·
hey guys
i'm new to engine conversions however i've always been keen to get more horsepower from my bmw and now's the time.
My question to you all is whether i should upgrade my current 4cyl M43 engine to a 325i 6cyl M50 or a 328i 6cyl M52.

Other threads say that the M52 is only going to give me one extra horse power than the M50 and i'm guessing that it's a heavier engine so is it worth it in terms of power to weight?

My other dispute is that as my car is a 1992 model and the M52 is a younger engine whether or not the electrics would match up with all this talk of ews and etc.

On the other hand as the M52 is younger, did bmw design it a bit lighter than the M50.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as i'd like to start looking for my new engine.
Thanks in advance:thumbsup

#3 ·
325i has no ews to worry about so would be an easier swop. Standard power output is 192BHP revy engine and pretty buillet proof.

M52 328 engine makes 193 BHP as standard but quite a bit can be done to get more power.

Eiether way you will need gearbox,diff,prop,ECU,engine wiring loom.

May work out cheaper to find a complete rusty 325i for £200-300 and swop all the bits across.

#5 ·
cheers guy
"Standard power output is 192BHP revy engine and pretty buillet proof. M52 328 engine makes 193 BHP as standard but quite a bit can be done to get more power."

What about the 325i engine. In terms of boring out the cylinders and turboing?

Also, are the two engines the same size/weight?

#10 ·
Thanks guys
i've got something to run with now.
time to look at some prices and see what i can get my hands on
seems that getting the gearbox, diff, prop, ECU and the engine wiring loom is going to be the hardest part of the conversion considering everyone wants to sell the engine by itself.
It's really a toss up between the two engines.