2008 E92 320D auto M sport Coupe Timing chain/Reconditioned engine disaster :(

Notices

Thread: 2008 E92 320D auto M sport Coupe Timing chain/Reconditioned engine disaster :(

Reply to Thread
  1. 2008 E92 320D auto M sport Coupe Timing chain/Reconditioned engine disaster :( 
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    itwentbang's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320d M sport coupe
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    automatic
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

Thanks
    Hi All I'm new to bimmerforums and am desperately hoping for some advice. Literally between a rock and a hard place. Story to follow ( there are a lot of things I would have done differently in hindsight but I am where I am now unfortunately).

I was driving my 320d when it lost power october 2016 - AA were called and recovered it to a local garage ( one who I have used off and on for all my bmw's over the past 6 years or so). The garage diagnosed this to be an issue with a stretched/broken timing belt and advised I would either need a replacement engine or have mine reconditioned.

They advised me to purchase an engine code N47D20C. I searched the internet for quotes and came across an engineering firm in Scotland who supplied me a used recon engine for £1200.

This was shipped to my mechanic who fitted it. He advised car was left on the ramp and ran fine for 2 hours then developed a fault - loud banging noise.

I called the engineering firm and complained - they advised this would now be a warranty issue eventhough I argued that the car hadn't left the ramp. I also complained that this would incur extra labour charges that they should pay. The company advised they could uplift both engines and recon my existing engine and return it.

So they reconned my engine and sent it back. The mechanic fit it but advised the engine was loud - rattling sound and it was the timing chain most likely at fault.